Getting DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN for oath on Remote Server

Lobalt

Junior Member
Original poster
Local time
2:17 AM
May 31, 2019
10
1
PG Version
8.6.5
Server Type
Remote - VPS
So, I saw another recent thread about this, but it was almost 3 weeks old and I didn't want to necro it. If I should have, please remove or merge as you see fit. There is a difference between the two which is that their problem seemed to be related to a local server whereas my server is remote. However, once I've Deployed Traefik, Closed the Ports, and then deployed PGShield, my oath requests push back the NXDOMAIN error. I assume everything else is configured correctly because I can exempt Portainer and pull it up without issues. I configured everything yesterday and am still experiencing the problem 24 hours later, so I don't think caching is the issue either. I'll throw down some info below and if anything else is needed, just let me know.

Server Host: Contabo
Domain Registrar: Google
DNS: Cloudflare

All containers seem to check in running or healthy.

I am a little bit of a n00b, but I've been messing around with Linux on a superficial level for a couple years, now.

Also, I did, previously try this on a GCE machine, but couldn't get it set up there, either. That was SEVERAL days ago.
 

mackattack57

Full Member
Local time
3:17 AM
Apr 14, 2019
47
4
Go back to Traefik and double check your deployment. Mine sometimes needs to be done again after PGShield launches. Yours might say deployed incorrectly
 

Lobalt

Junior Member
Original poster
Local time
2:17 AM
May 31, 2019
10
1
Well, opened up the menu for Traefik and it said it was DEPLOYED with no indication of any issues. That said, I went ahead and redeployed it, anyway.
It did not throw any errors, but I'm still getting
This site can’t be reached
oauth.mydomain.net’s server IP address could not be found.


DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN
 

mackattack57

Full Member
Local time
3:17 AM
Apr 14, 2019
47
4
I have run across this error before. Let me know if this does not make sense at first. I applied PG Shield as an app instead of doing it via WEB. I would be logged in for machines that I was logged in already but I would get that error on machines that I was not logged in via a cookie. I verified this by deleting the history on a machine that I was already using and it was working correctly before deploying a fix.

I went back to the PGShield Wiki and did everything like I had never done it before and realized I was not clicking the WEB app radio button for it in my developer's console. This is what solved a similar issue I had during one deployment before.

Again, I don't know if this made complete sense because I ready something similar without it actually sinking into my skull the first time. I might be able to say it differently if this doesn't help you out tonight.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nightshade

Lobalt

Junior Member
Original poster
Local time
2:17 AM
May 31, 2019
10
1
Double checked it, just now, and looks like it is, in fact, a Web credential thingie. Is there a benefit to ripping it out and trying to recreate it?
3516
 
T

TheShadow

Guest
Did you add a cname for oauth in your DNS?? That's what the error is about lol
 

Lobalt

Junior Member
Original poster
Local time
2:17 AM
May 31, 2019
10
1
So, I had an A record. I converted it to a CNAME record last night, then enabled Shield just now and tested, but still getting the same thing.
 
T

TheShadow

Guest
Go through the PGShield wiki. You have to add your domain to the authorized domains list and add authorized redirect url too. It's a configuration issue on your end as PGShield hasn't changed and works fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mackattack57

Lobalt

Junior Member
Original poster
Local time
2:17 AM
May 31, 2019
10
1
I don't mean to imply anything of the sort. I'm certain it's a configuration error on my end, I just don't know what. I'll go back through the wiki and see if anything looks wrong.
 

mackattack57

Full Member
Local time
3:17 AM
Apr 14, 2019
47
4
did you add oauth.TLD.com to your redirect site and add TLD.com to your consent settings?
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.


Maintenance Donations

Recommend NewsGroups

      Up To a 58% Discount!

Trending