Hetzner Plex-Emby info | PlexGuide.com

Hetzner Plex-Emby info

• Stop using Chrome! Download the Brave Browser via >>> [Brave.com]
    It's a forked version of Chrome with native ad-blockers and Google's spyware stripped out! Download for Mac, Windows, Android, and Linux!
Welcome to the PlexGuide.com
Serving the Community since 2016!
Register Now

ferithon

Citizen+
Original poster
Sponsor
Oct 26, 2019
Hi at all....i'm not expert, it's my first time with "dedicated unmanaged server". I buyed at Hetzner a server with this configuration:

CPU: Intel Xeon E5-1650V2
Network Controller: 1GB Intel I350
HDD: 15 x HDD SATA 6,0 TB Enterprise
RAID Controller: 4-Port SATA PCI-E - Adaptec 8405 SGL (2277600-R)
RAM: 8 x 16384 MB DDR3 ECC reg.
RAID Controller: RAID controller accessories - Adaptec AEC-82885T Expander Card

I will store media "locally" (i will use GD only for backup them) and i will use plex (or emby but i think plex) with plexpass.

My question are:
1) with this server how many "live" transcoding i can do?
2) with direct-play (without transcoding) how many streaming can i do (at same time)? I wanna share my server with my family (6 people or max 10).

Tnx a lot for help

Datamonkeh

Data Hoarding Primate
Project Manager
Donor
Donor
Jan 20, 2018
Seems like a waste each month for the stated usage case, an NVMe SSD + GSuite would likely give a similar if not better result, but at a lower price. Anyway... CPU Mark of 12,749 is roughly 6 1080 H264 transcodes depending on bit-rate. Direct stream plays will depend on your IO load, uplink and file size, you’ll not for example be able to do as many 4K REMUX direct plays as you would for example a 1080 Webrip’s.

Reactions: 1 user

ferithon

Citizen+
Original poster
Sponsor
Oct 26, 2019