Noob
Original poster
Donor
Donor
Local time
2:50 PM
Jan 12, 2020
Hey everyone, I just discovered this community

I've been using Plex & Torrents for years now but I just recently set up Sonarr, Radarr, Usenet, etc.. and THEN I discover this site!

Well I'm very new to Usenet and I'm not sure where to start, so far I've got NZBGeek indexer and thundernews service, any suggestions on how to get started with private indexers would be appreciated

Edrock200

Local time
5:50 PM
Nov 17, 2019
I would start by installing nzbhydra and sabnzbd off the PG core apps. It gets configured similar to jackett if you used that with torrents. You will also need a Usenet provider. I use frugalnews (no affiliation.)

Basically for nzbgeek and other nzb indexers, somewhere in your profile should be an API key, possibly an API url too but most major indexers have preconfigured settings in Hydra.

Go into Hydra config and setup your indexers. Hydra itself has its own API key. Grab that.

Install sabnzbd if you haven't already, and in your config setup your Usenet providers and grab sabz's API key as well. Setup your categories too(categories are like torrent labels, you don't need to set separate folders for each category.) can ignore the post processing stuff in sabz, sonarr/radarr/lidarr does all that for you.

Go to sonarr/radarr/lidarr and configure your newznab indexer by pointing to nzbhydra and the Hydra API key from earlier. Then go to downloaders tab and configure sabz with it connection info and API key, and you will need to set a unique category for each app from the ones you setup earlier in sabz.