Plex not recognized as local (nearby) server. Unable to playback anything on Roku client. | PlexGuide.com

Plex not recognized as local (nearby) server. Unable to playback anything on Roku client.

• Stop using Chrome! Download the Brave Browser via >>> [Brave.com]
    It's a forked version of Chrome with native ad-blockers and Google's spyware stripped out! Download for Mac, Windows, Android, and Linux!
Welcome to the PlexGuide.com
Serving the Community since 2016!
Register Now
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rmckeon926

Citizen
Original poster
Donor
Jan 25, 2019
I'm new to Plexguide and mostly new to Ubuntu but have been playing around for the past week on my local server and got everything working well under remote connections (Plex, Sonarr, Radarr, Ombi, Tautulli and Traefik using Cloudflare). I'm able to connect to all the apps through HTTPS from an outside network and my shared users on Plex report no difficulty accessing the new server.

However, I'm having difficulty accessing Plex on my Roku from my internal LAN network, it sees the server and lists my movies and TV shows but won't download thumbnails or allow me to view details on any items or play files; it's slow loading up as well. I've restarted, unplugged, logged out and even reinstalled the Plex app (thinking it may be cache related) on the Roku without success.

I figured the problem may be related to my Roku not recognizing my Plex server as a local (nearby) server, it always shows it as a "remote" server in the list. I assumed it had something to do with the internal Docker IPs and subnets, so I added these to the Plex Network/LAN Network settings as user timekills describes in #2 from his post below:

https://plexguide.com/threads/plex-domain-com-not-working.2078/post-13381

Plex LAN Networks.JPG

Plex IP List.JPG

Portainer Networks.JPG