Discussion - Recommendation for Hetzner Dedicated? | PlexGuide.com

Discussion Recommendation for Hetzner Dedicated?

• Stop using Chrome! Download the Brave Browser via >>> [Brave.com]
    It's a forked version of Chrome with native ad-blockers and Google's spyware stripped out! Download for Mac, Windows, Android, and Linux!
Welcome to the PlexGuide.com
Serving the Community since 2016!
Register Now

spaceman07

Citizen+
Original poster
Nov 25, 2019
What can someone recommend for about 15-20 users max where we are all based in UK? budget I have for around $50 but can stretch it out if its worth the extra.

The users will be transcoding alot so need to be able to handle that.
Let me know what you guys can recommend.. Thanks
Post automatically merged:

a server that can handle 15 transcoding.

Last edited:

ThePud

Citizen
Apr 11, 2020
Im new to all this myself, but it might help with the answer if you try place an amount of how many concurrent transcodes. How many out of the 10/15? From what I've read you need a CPU passmark score of 2000 per transcode. Based on that you'd need at least a CPU with 20,000 Passmark. Another more experienced member may be able to offer you a better answer.

Edit: Forgot to add some people say 1 core = 1 transcode. Someone here might be able to clarify more on that too.

Edrock200

MVP
Staff
Nov 17, 2019
The 8700 and 9900k have the uhd630 igpu which can transcode x.265 and x.264 without much effort. New the 8700 are 60 euros and 9900 are 70 euros at hetzner and should stream fine to the UK even w/o cdn but keep your eyes on the auctions too. Look for one with a modern Intel chip that has quicksync capabilities. The last 2 or 3 generations with quicksync do a good job at hw transcode.

Admin9705

Administrator
Project Manager
Donor
Jan 17, 2018

spaceman07

Citizen+
Original poster
Nov 25, 2019