Original poster
Donor
Local time
9:15 PM
Mar 21, 2018
Hi

I'm currently using the unencrypted version with move -
but from time to time i get a bit nervous about this setup

So i would like to switch to an encrypted version - whats the best approach to that?

I have currently about 50TB of data in a google drive (business account)

I'm not a coder and have basically no clue but i thought about the following approach:

Make a backup of all my programms (plex, sonarr, ....)
Install a clean Ubuntu on my dedicated server (just to get rid of any old stuff)
Do a clean install of Plexguide (with the benefit of having a more recent install than my current 6.019)
setup a new teamdrive for encryption
Setup encrypted XXX - Which version works best at the moment?

until here its rather standard
but in order to get the unencrypted content to the encrypted teamdrive i have no clue how to approach this -
a script that moves data from the unencrpyted gdrive to /unionfs/ (where it should be picked up by the "normal" process like the data came from sonarr/radarr)

Is there a better way?
I assume i'm not the only one who has made that move so there might be already a skript/batch whatever out there

Or is there a way to run the encryption on gdrive directly which would make the download/upload unneccessary

All the best
Stammbraeu

clinch123

The Newb
Local time
2:15 PM
Apr 7, 2018
Look into renting a google cloud VPS for the Unencrypted to Encrypted transfer. You should be able to bypass the transfer limit. Set up Plexguide Encrypted on the VPS. Then use the good old "mv" command to move from /mnt/gdrive/{tv | movies}/* to /mnt/unionfs/{tv | movies}. Plexguide should catch everything and encrypt it.

As far as your physical server, you should be okay just using the plexguide setup to change from move to move-en. Id backup sonarr, radarr and plex just in case though. Nothing should have to be changed pointer wise as it will all be done during the setup.

stammbraeu

Respected Member