VPS recommendations | PlexGuide.com

VPS recommendations

• Stop using Chrome! Download the Brave Browser via >>> [Brave.com]
    It's a forked version of Chrome with native ad-blockers and Google's spyware stripped out! Download for Mac, Windows, Android, and Linux!
Welcome to the PlexGuide.com
Serving the Community since 2016!
Register Now

dullahanmediaco

Citizen
Original poster
Donor
Apr 20, 2020
Hey guys!

I've been hosting my own Plex server at home for the past 5-6 years but have been wanting to change it over to VPS hosting with GSuite. I already have GSuite setup and need to begin the long process of moving everything over. Can anyone recommend a decent VPS that I can have 2-3 transcode streams, hard drive space of 100GB's minimum, and I'm not really sure what VPS plans have in terms of bandwidth. My current Plex database is 34GB's, over 5k movies, 258 shows. Currently have 84TB's of raw storage. I don't have a great upload at home which is partial the reason of switching to VPS hosting, also I have been looking into building out a Skoolie (converted school bus) so my Wife and I can just travel. I don't think my server will hold up well in a traveling school bus, with the hard drives getting bashed around. We still need our Plex though! I have considered colocation as well, last ditch effort would be to ask a family member to host the server but I like maintaining control over my server and don't want anyone really messing with it. Any suggestions will be helpful. If this is the wrong category, let me know. Thanks!

Edit:

Network:

-Spectrum 200Mbit down/10Mbit up
-Netgear R7000

My current server config

Case: Rosewill RSV-L4500 4U rackmount case

Mobo: Intel S2600CP

PSU: Corsair CX750m 750watts

Ram: Samsung 80GB’s of DDR3 10600R

CPU: Dual Xeon E5-2650v2 2.6Ghz processors

HBA card: LSI SAS 9210 i8 8 port using mini SAS to SATA breakout cables (firmware updated to IT mode)
SAS Expander: HP SAS Expander

Fans: 7 fans total
-(6) Arctic F12 120mm fans